Pursuing Your Passion

Are you pursuing your passion? I realized that the reason I couldn’t find total happiness is because I was not. I had great jobs, but hated them. They didn’t make me happy. I felt like I wasn’t doing anything worthwhile. I felt like, although I was working, I was wasting my life away. I think as human beings we need to feel meaning and purpose in our lives. And I just didn’t.

Everything else in my life was great, except the way I made money, or spent my productive time. After reading a few different (self-help) books, I accidently figured out what was missing in my life: passion and purpose. Have you ever heard that saying that if you do what you love you’ll never work a day in your life? Another question that I came across and asked myself: if there were no such thing as money what would you be doing with your life? And another concept that led me to pursue my passion is the concept of flow: “In positive psychology, flow, also known as the zone, is the mental state of operation in which a person performing an activity is fully immersed in a feeling of energized focus, full involvement, and enjoyment in the process of the activity. In essence, flow is characterized by complete absorption in what one does” (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flow_(psychology)).

Ok so what do I love to do so I would not work a day in my life? Art and cooking, these are my favorite hobbies. If there were no such thing as money I would love to open up an artsy themed restaurant with great food. The walls would be covered with a ton of artwork, including my own. And finally, what produces that feeling of flow for me? Again the answer is that I totally loose myself and track of time when creating art or cooking. So to me it was finally obvious what would most likely make me happy. I chose to pursue art, painting actually.

It actually worked out that I got laid off of my day job. I still have a part time job at night so I could get by and spend time in the day painting. I haven’t completed as much as I would have liked to by now but I am definitely getting some practice time in. This is what I call everything I’m doing now since I am learning, practice. I am very inspired by an artist named Leonid Afremov who paints the most beautiful, colorful pieces with a palette knife. I am determined to become a pro at palette knife painting. It is a very difficult painting style to learn. However the vibrancy of the colors and the thick textures you can achieve have me obsessed with mastering this. I hope to one day sell my paintings online.

This is the first oil painting I had done in many years. Only the water is done with a palette knife.

image

These two are complete, and completely done with a palette knife.

image

image

And these are two that I’m working on now

image

image

And I did have one that was kind of a flop because the paint cracked in the cactus’s. Apparany this is due to applying thinner layer over thicker layers. Oops!

image

Thanks for visiting!😆

Leave a Reply

